The Wicker Man (1973)

The first time I saw this, circa 1996 or so, I didn’t like it. I didn’t get the hype about it as a horror classic. Then I saw it again around 2003 when it came out on DVD and suddenly it clicked for me. It’s not really a horror film, it’s a murder mystery (hell, you might even make a case for it being a musical of a strikingly odd sort). And so I completely backflipped to the point where I now view it as one of the best films of the 70s. With the news of the passing of Edward Woodward, there was nothing else to do but dust it off once again. Still great, obviously. Because I am dense, it has also taken me this many years to realise the girls on Summerisle all have floral/botanical names; didn’t twig (ho ho!) to this until the scene in the BDM registry where Howie looks at the list of names and comments on some of them being “Biblical”.

Leave a Reply

