Day of Wrath (1943)

I saw this on TV years ago, but all I recall about it is that it bored me terribly. As such, I’d frankly forgotten almost everything about the film and for some reason I thought it actually contained a second modern story in parallel with the 17th century one. Which I suppose shows how much attention I must’ve been paying to it in the 90s… mind you, the clown who wrote the description of the film for Allmovie was clearly working from a memory as faulty as mine, so I don’t feel too bad if the professionals are fucking up too. Anyway, seeing the film again was good, not least because now I actually know what happens in it, and I suspect I was harsher on it than I should’ve been back then (is that two Dreyer films I’ve liked better on reappraisal? Christ, I’ll be liking Ordet next…). That said, though, this is nothing if not a dour motherfucker of a film, and while I did like it I doubt I’ll be rushing back to it any time soon. Though I’m sure there are people out there who would casually pull this off the shelf for a night’s entertainment, I don’t know if I want to know them.

Leave a Reply

