Suck (2009)

Why yes, the blog has been neglected for a couple of weeks, thanks for noticing. Unfortunately there’s been another ludicrously time-consuming project demanding I work at it properly rather than just do it in bits every now and then, so film-watching’s fallen by the wayside as a result… until last night. Frankly I wasn’t actually in a film-watching mood, I was at a friend’s place to do other stuff and I had this thing foisted upon me much against my will; and when I was told it was a comedy about vampires featuring Malcolm McDowell, Alice Cooper and Iggy Pop that had more or less gone straight to video, my expectations were not high. Suck had an uphill battle on its hands with me, and it’s much to the film’s credit that by the end I was totally won over by it. It’s the story of a rather hapless indie rock band ironically named The Winners, who are pretty much dying on their feet, abandoned by their manager and struggling to make inroads… until the female bass player becomes a vampire and the band’s profile suddenly lifts, despite the attendant complications of having to dispose of the bodies. The advertising obviously highlights all the big name guest stars rather than the lesser lights in the actual lead roles, which is understandable but a bit sad cos they’re all quite good at what they do (particularly Chris Ratz’ unfortunate roadie/Renfield); but it is the bigger names that’ll draw people. McDowell is good as Eddie van Helsing (ha!), the vampire hunter who fears the dark; Alice Cooper is, well, Alice Cooper; Iggy is strangely menacing and menacingly strange; I’m embarrassed to admit I didn’t recognise Henry Rollins as the loathsome DJ (amazing what difference a wig makes); and casting *Moby* of all people as Beef, the lead singer of a band whose schtick involves the audience pelting them with raw bloody meat, was genuinely inspired. Suck is a small film with enough sense not to get ambitious beyond its means; while the parallel it wants to draw between vampirism and drug addiction is a bit obvious and occasionally laboured, on the whole the film has a well-done easy charm that made it a winner for me. If it hadn’t been foisted on me like that, I likely would’ve bypassed it and missed something good. Needless to say it shouldn’t be confused with Vampires Suck

Leave a Reply

