The Human Centipede (First Sequence) (2009)

If nothing else, any morbid curiosity I may have had left about seeing the second film in this series—and that curiosity was purely on account of its censorship adventures in this country; you can read about them here in full detail, suffice to note that it was passed uncut, banned, then re-passed cut—any morbid curiosity, I say, has been 100% squashed by my not exactly successful attempt to watch the first film. Which I was fully willing to give a fair go; I didn’t really expect anything from it, few of the reviews I’ve read of it have ever indicated there was much to it beyond its infamous central conceit of a mad doctor stitching people together at the, er, extremities, but I was willing to find otherwise. And, um, I didn’t. Like Antichrist, which was causing its own stink around the same time, the details might be ghastly but it’s so boring to watch… Gah. I always say I never actually regret watching any film, just whatever time and money I may have wasted doing so; in this case I fortunately wasted no money (watched an .flv file of it a friend downloaded) and about the halfway point I opted to stop wasting my time and turned it off. Now I also know not to waste time or money on the follow-ups, I think I shall stop wasting any more words on it.

2 thoughts on “The Human Centipede (First Sequence) (2009)

  1. ghotiindustries June 2, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    That’ll do me then too. Now I don’t have to waste the time. Thanks! :)

  2. James R. June 3, 2012 at 1:12 am

    See? Film critics DO serve a purpose: we waste our time so you don’t have to waste yours… :)

Leave a Reply

