Blogathon: Movie Confessions

I don’t normally do blogathons and the like, as I think I’ve noted before, but this one seemed like fun, so…

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Taxi Driver, which I might at least respect a bit more if it would just admit to being an exploitation film (and be about 30 minutes shorter).

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet?

Just ten? Shit, I could probably list dozens…

  1. Back to the Future
  2. Close Encounters of the Third Kind
  3. The Graduate
  4. The Lost Weekend
  5. The Manchurian Candidate
  6. Notorious
  7. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
  8. On the Waterfront
  9. Rocky
  10. West Side Story

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

No.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

Daniel Day-Lewis. As I’ve said elsewhere, I have no idea why his performance in There Will Be Blood draws such plaudits.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

Does Wes Anderson count as a big director? Never seen anything by him. Or Manoel de Oliveira. Or Raoul Ruiz. I’m actually pretty good with American/British/western European filmmakers and I probably have at least a passing acquaintance with most if not all of the commonly accepted big names from those spheres. I could probably do better with Asian/Indian/African cinema, though.

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

None that I can think of off-hand. There’s quite a few films I like that I think are generally underrated, but I can’t think of any I love as such that are really wildly unpopular.

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

Only at Mu-Meson Archives, where the films shown were usually of the sort that invited booze-fuelled bad behaviour.

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

An Australian film called Passion. There was this girl on the soap Home and Away in the late 90s who I had a massive crush on, and she was in that film, in what I gather was a small role. Watched this fucking piece of tripe and never saw her in it.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles?

No, although I will admit to getting sick of subtitles at times. I am very quick at reading them (I read them in far less time than they’re usually on screen), but every now and then I find having to divert my attention from the actual image to read a bit of text, even for that second or so, kind of tiresome and distracting. However, since I don’t propose to learn all the languages I’d need to learn to be able to watch all the non-anglophone films I want to see, I’ll live with subtitles.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

None that I can think of. I have some I’ve bought years ago and not watched, but almost all of those are films I’ve seen in the past… just haven’t re-watched them yet.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

I have a few titles from Something Weird that are pretty dreadful, plus some dodgy European horror and the like. Just haven’t got round to getting rid of them. Don’t really know the best way to do so, either. (How do you go about offloading something like Erotic Nights of the Living Dead?)

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

I have a Toshiba flat-screen widescreen CRT television, probably one of the last of its kind before everything went high-definition. I am perfectly content for things to stay that way, too, partly because the set weighs about 50 kg and I have no idea how to move the fucking thing, but also because I am, to be honest, a bit of a hi-def sceptic. Not totally thrilled by some of my DVD player’s quirks, but I have no particular desire to upgrade to Blu-Ray, so the existing set-up should do me for a while.

Any other confessions you want to make?

I did not have sexual relations with that woman… oh, not that sort of confession?

4 thoughts on “Blogathon: Movie Confessions

  1. Tyler July 27, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    It’s gonna take me a while to get over the fact that you dislike Taxi Driver and Daniel Day-Lewis, and that you haven’t seen Back to the Future or One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, but I think I’ll survive.

  2. Dan July 27, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Back to the Future? Oh no! You need to hop into your DeLorean and check that out. It holds up really well! I’ve seen a bunch of people list Daniel Day-Lewis as overrated, and I don’t really get it. I know the acclaim is over the top, but he’s still an excellent actor.

  3. MattL July 29, 2012 at 11:40 am

    If you have seen Daniel Day-Lewis in every movie he has acted in there is no way you would call him overrated. I’m mean unless you’re nuts. I remember when he first started acting in movies. His range was remarkable. I think he is great in There Will Be Blood but I can see someone thinking he is over-the-top in that role. I’m also curious who came up with the questions. Who the heck would not watch a movie because of subtitles? Anyone serious about cinema wouldn’t even ask that question.

  4. Rodney Twelftree July 29, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    I saw Passion too – it sucked the big one and blew kisses to it afterwards. Terrible movie.

Leave a Reply

