October summary

Well, THAT was a busy month, wasn’t it? In fact, along with June 2011, the month just gone was the busiest this humble blog has ever witnessed… and if it hadn’t been for a few days where I actually just couldn’t bring myself to watch anything, it probably would’ve been even busier. For the Italian horror blogathon I fully intended to also watch the following:

  • Michele Soavi’s The Sect and Dellamorte Dellamore
  • Dario Argento’s Opera
  • Pupi Avati’s Zeder
  • Lamberto Bava’s Macabre

And I just… couldn’t. I actually started watching Opera but had to stop after about ten minutes for some reason. On reflection, I think the pattern of watching two (or more) films a day that I somehow maintained throughout the month was probably not the best thing I could’ve done, cos I was obviously getting burned out even with the films I did enjoy. I had quite a number of other films I also fully intended to watch during October—including a rewatch of Vampyres to mark the passing of its maker Jose Ramon Larraz—that I just didn’t do because the mental strength just wasn’t there.

On the whole, though, I’m pretty satisfied with October’s viewing, especially with how much of it wound up being previously unseen stuff (I’m also kind of impressed that I did a whole month of horror without even one Hammer film). Glad to finally carry out the Val Lewton project, too, it’s only been something like three years since I first invoked it. I’m still a bit alarmed by the amount of Jess Franco I watched, although that’s nothing compared to the amount of Franco I still have to watch. In fact, just two days ago I bought no fewer than five Franco films. Admittedly I’ve seen one and the other four were Severin’s Jess Franco Perverse Collection box, so only two actual purchases technically, but yeah, even so. If ever you suspected I was in need of an intervention, the time is probably right…

Probable highlight of the stuff that was new to me: The Cabin in the Woods.
Probable lowlight: Kill List.
Of the old stuff, I think I was most pleased to see I Walked With a Zombie again, and to find a couple of those Lewton productions were better than I recalled.

I don’t think I really want to do the ICM forum challenges this month, though next month they’re doing a silent cinema challenge, so look forward to more of that then… Not sure what I’ll do this month, but at any rate I don’t think it’ll be double bills most days.

One thought on “October summary

  1. Kevin J. Olson November 2, 2013 at 6:20 am

    Thanks so much for finding time to participate in the blogathon, James! I appreciate it. Let’s do this again next year!

Leave a Reply

