Quiet, isn’t it…

Not that I suppose you’re really that interested, but here’s what I’ve been reading over the last few months:

1. Jules Verne, Journey to the Centre of the Earth (Thomas Butcher, trans.)
2. Abbé Prévost, Manon Lescaut (Leonard Tancock, trans.)
3. Ivan Turgenev, Spring Torrents (Leonard Shapiro, trans.)
4. Ariel S. Winter, The Twenty-Year Death
5. Anonymous, The Cavern of Death
6. H.G. Wells, The First Men in the Moon
7. R.K. Narayan, The Mahabharata
8. John Green, The Fault in Our Stars
9. Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Poor Folk and Other Stories
10. Jules Verne, Around the World in Eighty Days
11. Maria Edgeworth, Castle Rackrent/Ennui
12. Bertrand Russell, The Problems of Philosophy
13. J.G. Ballard, The Unlimited Dream Company
14. Gene Wolfe, The Shadow of the Torturer
15. Gene Wolfe, The Claw of the Conciliator
16. Gene Wolfe, The Sword of the Lictor
17. Gene Wolfe, The Citadel of the Autarch
18. Jack Vance, The Dying Earth
19. Lu Xun, The Real Story of Ah-Q and Other Tales of China
20. Soseki Natsume, Botchan
21. Aboud Dandachi, The Doctor, The Eye Doctor and Me
22. Rainer Maria Rilke, The Notebooks of Malte Laurids Brigge
23. Gustave Flaubert, Three Tales
24. Petrus Borel, Champavert: Immoral Tales
25. Comte de Lautréamont, Maldoror and Poems (Paul Knight, trans.)
26. Francois-Rene de Chateaubriand, Atala & Rene (Irving Putter, trans.)
27. Gaston Leroux, The Phantom of the Opera
28. Alain de Botton, The News: A User’s Manual

Just so you understand I haven’t been doing nothing while not updating this.

The desire to watch films shows minimal signs of coming back in a hurry; all I’ve watched lately has been old Warner cartoons and Doctor Who serials that I’ve seen more times than I can count anyway. I did put myself down for this month’s ICheckMovies forum challenge, Japanese cinema, which is something I have a good amount of unwatched examples of, but obviously that didn’t provoke me into watching any of them. Mind you, I’ve actually been buying some stuff again in recent weeks after a period of not doing so; a few BFI imports but also some Blu-rays (for the days when I finally upgrade to high-definition; in the meantime I rip them to mp4 to watch on the HD TV). Some of these are new, some of them upgrades of things I already have on DVD, e.g. the Quatermass Xperiment package which also contains Quatermass 2 AND X the Unknown, and which was accordingly too good to pass up. Plus I finally own Barry Lyndon, having refused to invest in the original DVD cos it was shit quality (at least the BD is anamorphic).

I’m sure the inclination to watch will return, but in the meantime I think 2014 will be more a year of reading. Seems to be going that way at present.

2 thoughts on “Quiet, isn’t it…

  1. Sheshy (@shazzshazshz) April 2, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    holy shit you’re a fast reader, if that’s what you’ve read in the last few months.

    Since the beginning of the year I’ve gotten through Roald Dahl’s Tales of the Unexpected, Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman and Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird.

    You put me to shame.

    Anyway you’ve given me some good book ideas for the future with this list!

    Do you own all those books or do you borrow them?

  2. James R. April 3, 2014 at 2:36 am

    Out of that lot, five were library loans and four were borrowed from friends. The rest are mine in some form or other. I should add that this doesn’t include my sort-of project to read all of Shakespeare by the end of the year, cos for all I say I like Shakespeare, I’m slightly embarrassed by how relatively little I’ve actually read, only about a quarter of the plays or so. Only read “Two Gentlemen of Verona” so far, though, so better get cracking…

    This is absoutely abnormal for me, I should also say, and the number of books I’ve read just in the last three months already exceeds what I read last year. As for how quickly I read, that depends on various factors, most importantly my own mood—I seem to be in a mood for reading right now that I haven’t been in for a very long time—and the individual book itself—what sort of book it is (is it some demanding bit of philosophy or some relatively light bit of fiction, etc), how many pages, how easy is it to read the print, and (the most important question for me now) am I reading a printed book or an electronic one; I could be wrong, but I seem to read books on my Kindle which I got a few weeks ago faster than I do print books. Or maybe not.

Leave a Reply

